Understanding System-Defined Groups

Aside from manually sharing and setting access permissions for individual items like workspaces, projects, and SiteViews, CupixWorks also offers a way to set permissions based on user type. To do so, users can be added to one of four system-defined groups in CupixWorks:

  • Administrators
  • Billing Admin
  • Workspace Creators
  • Users

CupixWorks has one additional system-defined group that is unchangeable:

  • Super Admin

Group Permissions Overview

The following table outlines actions that can be performed by members in the system-defined groups by default:

System-Defined Group / User TypeNumber of MembersSee All WorkspacesCreate WorkspacesSee ProjectsCreate ProjectsAdd Members to Groups
Super Admin1✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️
AdministratorsUnlimited✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️
Billing AdminUnlimited✔️✔️✔️
Workspace CreatorsUnlimited
(Only workspaces created by or shared with them)
✔️✔️✔️
UsersUnlimited
(Only workspaces shared with them)
✔️✔️

Note that an individual can be added to all system-defined groups except Super Admin, and a user can be added to more than one system-defined group. For example, John Doe on your team is a CupixWorks super user and manager who needs access to every workspace and also handles billing. John can be added to Administrators and Billing Admin to efficiently fulfill his role on his team.

Super Admin

The Super Admin is the user who created the CupixWorks team by setting up the team name and team URL. There is only one Super Admin per team, and they are not permitted to delete or swap themselves with a different member. By default, the Super Admin is added to all five system-defined groups (Users, Workspace Creators, Administrators, Billing Admin, and Super Admin), and are able to perform all actions available to members added to these system-defined groups. Note they can access but are not automatically added to user-defined groups.

Administrators

Adding team members to the group ‘Administrators’ will also allow them to create workspaces and view workspaces created by others (they do not need to also be added to Workspace Creators to have this ability), as well as view and create projects and data contained within those workspaces. As Admins, they will also be able to edit the Team Profile, and can view and add Members, Groups, and Forms from Settings. Within Settings, Administrators are able to add or remove members from Users, Workspace Creators, Billing Admin, and Administrators.

Billing Admin

Billing Admins are able to view and change parts related to billing, and their permissions reflect this need to determine the amount of projects and captures that are created. If someone is only a Billing Admin and User, they can see all workspaces and can view and create projects within any workspace. However, they are unable to create new workspaces themselves. When viewing their Settings, Billing Admins are only able to see their personal profile, and are unable to view or make changes to Team Profile, Members, Groups, and Forms. There are no limits on the number of Billing Admins you can add at this time.

Workspace Creators

Workspace Creators are users that also have the ability to create new workspaces. They are only able to view workspaces created by themselves or shared with them, and are unable to view workspaces created by others that they are not added to. They can view projects, BIM, and other data that are saved within workspaces they have access to. Within Settings, they only see their personal profile, and are unable to view or make changes to Team Profile, Members, Groups, and Forms.

Users

All members are included within the group Users by default. When a new member is added to the team, they are automatically only categorized as a User. Users are able to create new projects and view projects created by other members within the workspace. A team member must be manually added to Workspace Creators, Administrators, and Billing Admin for their role and permissions to be expanded.