Understanding Permissions and Sharing

CupixWorks allows you to share workspaces, projects, and different types of project data such as captures, SiteViews, and reports that are stored in CupixWorks with anyone on your team. CupixWorks offers several ways to manage access permissions at different data levels in simple and granular fashion.

Permission Levels

Data in CupixWorks is organized in several layers. Higher level data sets, also called parent data, can hold various multiple types of child data. For example, a project is categorized as the child data of a workspace, and captures or SiteViews are child data of a project.

You can share child data with other team members without sharing parent data. For example, you can share a project without sharing its parent workspace, or you can share a SiteView with external collaborators without sharing the SiteView's parent project.

When you share data, you can immediately set whether selected recipients can edit, delete, or add child data, share the data with additional team members, or only view the content. CupixWorks offers four levels of access permission, as summarized in the following table:

PermissionsView All DataCreate Child DataEdit or Delete Any Child DataShare Data With Others
Can view only✔️
Can create and view all✔️✔️
Can create and edit all✔️✔️✔️
Full - Can create, edit all and share✔️✔️✔️✔️
Note: Someone's permissions to the parent data also applies to all child data the parent contains. For example, if you share a project with a collaborator and set their access permission as Can view only, that collaborator has Can view only access to all child data within that project (ie: captures, SiteViews, and reports).

Configure Access Permissions for a Group of Team Members

CupixWorks offers the user group (group for short) functionality, which allows you to add multiple team members to one category.  By using groups, you can add or remove team members from various data sets in bulk. The above permissions applies to both individual team members as well as groups when sharing data.  For more information on using groups, refer to our articles on creating groups, and adding or removing team members from them.

Administrators and Their Predefined Permissions

Unlike other project collaboration software, CupixWorks does not provide role-based permission presets such as Project Manager or Collaborator, because we believe in allowing your team to customize access permissions with the highest degree of flexibility. Instead, we offer a set of system-defined administrator-level groups, as shown in the following table.Implicit permissions are given to team members in these groups no matter how access permissions for a specific data item are set.

For a more detailed explanation of our system-defined groups, refer to Understanding System-Defined Groups.

System-Defined Group / User TypeDelete TeamEdit All DataCreate WorkspacesAccess to Team Member AdministrationAccess to Handle Billing
Super Admin✔️✔️✔️✔️✔️
Administrators✔️✔️✔️
Billing Admin✔️
Workspace Creators✔️
Note: Users is a fifth system-defined group that lists every member within your CupixWorks team. This list is automatically updated when new members are added or when members are removed, so you don’t need to add or remove them in this group manually.